What are the Bridgerton "prequels"? - Julia Quinn

What are the Bridgerton “prequels”?

Your favorite Bridgerton siblings have aunts and uncles who led rather romantic lives in the Georgian era, which immediately preceded the Regency era and was named for the three first King Georges—including King George III, who was married to the Queen Charlotte we know and love from Bridgerton on Netflix.

Because of Miss Bridgerton, Book 1 in the Rokesby series, takes place in 1779, while Britain was still at war with The Colonies. The Girl With the Make-Believe Husband (Book 2), actually travels to New York City and is the only book I’ve written that takes place in North America. The Other Miss Bridgerton (Book 3) moves ahead to 1786 and is largely set on the high seas. The series ends with First Comes Scandal (Book 4), set in 1791. Anthony, Benedict, and Colin Bridgerton have all been born by then, and readers get to see them as kids! Violet and Edmund Bridgerton also appear as secondary characters, especially in First Comes Scandal.

For reference, The Duke and I (the first book in the Bridgerton series) takes place in 1813.

There are a bunch of references that fans of the Bridgerton books will recognize, but you don’t have to have read the Bridgertons before the Rokesbys. Or vice versa.

More information can be found on the Rokesby series page, on each of the four Rokesby book pages, and in each book’s accompanying Inside the Story features.

← See all JQ FAQ
The books and the shows come together here.